Death of Vernon Radcliffe MBE – FMA – Newark-On-Trent, Nottinghamshire

Giant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flag

Vernon Radcliffe MBEMinistry of Defence 

 Vernon Radcliffe MBE -FMA

Thanks

 Giant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flag

Obituary   –   H. Vernon Radcliffe MBE FMA Age 85

 On June 11, 2011, he died quietly at home,  beloved husband of Gladys and brother to Edythe Pearce. Former Museum Curator and Voluntary Rainfall Observer. Funeral service was held Balderton Methodist Church, on Wednesday, June 22, at 1.15pm, followed by cremation at Grantham Crematorium at 3.30pm.

Donations for Cancer Research UK .

Thanks   –   Vernon Radcliffe

RADCLIFFE

On June 11, 2011, Vernon. The Friends of Newark Castle are saddened by the loss of one of their founder members and our thoughts and sympathies are with Gladys and family and other friends at this sad time.

Thanks   –   Vernon Radcliffe

RADCLIFFE

I wish to thank our friends and organisations for their support over the last year, for cards and messages I have received following Vernon’s death. To all who came to the funeral and Robert Howard for his tribute. For the caring and understanding of doctors, nurses and carers, too many to mention. David Gill for his guidance and advice and your generous donations for Cancer Research UK. Gladys.

The sad news of the death of Vernon Radcliffe has been announced. May I convey, on behalf of Newark Civic Trust, our most sincere condolences to his wife Gladys.

Vernon was a valued member and staunch supporter of the Trust and a great help to George Wilkinson during his period of office. When need arose Vernon could also be a very vocal critic. A friend to us all, he will be sadly missed!

 

Poppy Day .... R.I.P to all souls

Giant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all souls

Death of Vernon Radcliffe MBE Balderton – Newark History 

We are grateful to have his support and help when he joined Friends of Newark cemetery in 2005

Vernon Radcliffe MBENewark’s greatest benefactors and people who have helped shape Newark

Looking over at Cremated Remains, we will Remember Vernon and others who resting place is at Newark Cemetery, we will Remember them and Vernon.

Amongst the many well-known local people that are buried or their remains are in the Garden of Remembrance and now at rest at Newark Cemetery. Vernon is now included  among the many that we will Remember in years come.

 The knowledge, which he shared with many, he will be a great loss to Newark, may he RIP

Ministry of Defence 

Death of Vernon Radcliffe MBE FMA, Balderton – Newark History

 We are grateful to have his help over many years

We will miss him

SAM_1066

Posted in he Newark Advertiser

We Will Remember Him In Years To Come.

Newark’s greatest benefactors and people who have helped shape Newark, thanks Vernon.

Letter to Death of Vernon Radcliffe MBE Newark-On-Trent in The Newark Advertiser

Fond Memories

I was sorry to read of the death of Vernon Radcliffe, but pleased to see the photograph used with the article (Man With A Passion For History, Advertiser, June 16th 2011). It showed a glimpse of the humour of the man.

I worked with Vernon, along with the late Dr John Samuels, when Newark Castle Trust undertook archaeological investigations at Newark Castle.

Vernon used to host meetings and gave very valuable input during discussions. My condolences to his family.

— JIM WISHART, former Newark Castle Trust trustee, Main Street, North Muskham

EDYTHE PEARCE

PEARCE On February 29, 2012, in the care of the wonderful staff at North Clifton Hall Care Home, Edythe, aged 88. Sister of the late Vernon Radcliffe. Now at rest at ‘Bird Song’, Willoughby Farm, Alford.

Printed on 8th Mar 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2aLSat3h0w

Libera – Going Home (Full Version)

Libera – Going Home (Full Version – Live)

www.youtube.com

Libera

“The love that asks no questions, the love that stands the test, that lays upon the altar the dearest and the best”

– I Vow To Thee, My Country { My Tribute to

Mr Vernon Radcliffe MBE

Libera

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTogpa6xnU4

Princess Diana.

I Vow To Thee, My Country was sung at the funeral of Diana, the Princess of Wales.

The song I have chosen

(I Vow Too Thee My Country)

I Vow To Thee My Country Hymn

I vow to thee, my country, all earthly things above,
Entire and whole and perfect, the service of my love:
The love that asks no question, the love that stands the test,
That lays upon the altar the dearest and the best;
The love that never falters, the love that pays the price,
The love that makes undaunted the final sacrifice.

And there’s another country, I’ve heard of long ago,
Most dear to them that love her, most great to them that know;
We may not count her armies, we may not see her King;
Her fortress is a faithful heart, her pride is suffering;
And soul by soul and silently her shining bounds increase,
And her ways are ways of gentleness and all her paths are peace.

Giant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flagPoppy Day .... R.I.P to all soulsGiant flag

I vow to thee, my country, all earthly things above,

 Princess Diana considering it was one of her personal favourites.

Our beautiful and historic Newark Cemetery, London Road, Newark, Nottinghamshire open all year round Summer 8am-8pm, Winter 8am-6pm.

Ministry of Defence 

Location:  Newark-on-TrentNottinghamshire NG24 1SQ   

 www.maps.google.co.uk

Newark-On-Trent, Nottinghamshire

http://www.facebook.com/groups/233752416933/

I have put this website  together and has dedicated it to the thousands who resting place is at Newark Cemetery, Nottinghamshire since 1856. This website is my personal views and is not representative of Newark Town Council or others.

Laurence Goff

Chairman

Friends of Newark Cemetery

Leave a Reply

